To get here:

  1. Select Menu , Settings

Additional tabs:

Deletion

  • Mark documents for deletion after
    Recommended default is 1 day. The maximum is 7 days.
    • Documents can be reprinted until 12 hours after they are marked for deletion.

Printix Client

  • Allow users to add printers via Printix Client
    Unchecking this will remove Printers… from the Printix Client menu for users. Administrators will always be able to select Printers…

Scenarios where preventing users from adding printers via Printix Client could be relevant:

  • Existing group policies for printing are used to control which user gets which printer, so there is no need for users to be able to add printers themselves. Remember to check Convert print queues.
  • Printix Anywhere is the only print queue users will need, and it is configured to be automatically added for everyone.
  • All Printix printers are configured to be added automatically, so there is no need for users to do this.

Print queue naming

  • Printer ID after printer name
    The three-letter printer ID is placed at the end.
    Example: Reception ASD
  • Printer ID before printer name
    The three-letter printer ID is placed at the start.
    Example: ASD Reception
  • Printer name without printer ID
    Select this if you do not want users to see the printer ID as part of the printer name.
    Example: Reception

All Printix print queues will adopt to the selected naming within a few moments.

  • Hide printer ID in Printix Client
    Check this if you do not want the three-letter printer ID to appear on the Printix Client Printers page.

Migration policy

  • Create default print queue
    If checked, then when a printer is registered without a print queue, the system will create a default print queue and name the print queue the same as the printer model name. When migrating print servers, it is recommended to uncheck this as part of the Implementation setup.
  • Convert print queues
    Global setting to control if all print queues that points to a Printix printer should be converted. You can also set this per network. Before you enable this on a larger scale, you can test conversion of print queues on a single computer. At conversion the port settings are modified to use an Internet Port and allow print via Printix.
    • Network printers are converted if they are setup with a Standard TCP/IP Port or WSD Port.
    • Shared network printers are converted.
      Example: Reception on PrintServer becomes Reception ASD, ASD Reception, or Reception depending on the choice of Print queue naming.
    • Locally connected printers (USB) are not converted.
    • No printers are converted on servers.
  • Change print driver
    The converted print queue will use the print driver that the printer is setup to use in Printix Administrator. If you leave this unchecked (default) the print queue will continue to use the current print driver and its settings.

Email messages

  • Signature
    This text is inserted after “Friendly regards” in the email that is sent to users after they register. You may want to change this to include contact details for your Help Desk. By default this is populated with the name and email address of the first System manager. Example: John Smith, john.smith@acme.com

The name and email address of the administrator is used as signature in the email that is sent to a user when an administrator: Add user, or Change the role of a user.

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.
Printix Support

Post Comment